Monday, December 01, 2008

2008 General Assembly and Forum

The Association in cooperation with St. Michael’s College of Laguna, will hold a forum on "Managing Libraries on the Four Pillars of Learning” with focus on faculty-library collaboration on December 5, 2008 at the St. Beatrice Ballroom, St. Michael’s College of Laguna,Binan, Laguna from 8:00 A.M. to 11:00 a.m. Registration is free for alumni members.

Through this forum, the Association aims to share and enrich the knowledge of fellow professionals, library personnel and faculty in utilizing Jacques Delors’ Four Pillars of Learning in the management of libraries of the 21st century with faculty-library collaboration as focus. The forum will highlight specific answers on how: (1) to know what to acquire; (2) to do reference work in a digital environment; (3) to live and network together; and (4) to be super in ICT which, surely, will lead to authentic learning among faculty and library staff in their desire to concretize collaborative efforts.

The 8th General Assembly and Induction of 2009 Executive Board of PNU-LISAA, Inc. will follow at 11 a.m. with Milagros Santos-Ong, Library Director of the Supreme Court of the Philippines as the forum speaker and inducting officer.
Registration fee for the GA is 300Php to cover membership fees, lunch, raffle, and games. Be there and support the association!

2009 Elected Officers

Congratulations to the newly elected officers of the Alumni Board as announced by Teng Montejo, Nominations and Election Chairman, recently: Ofel L. Irabon, Medel N. Bautista, Marites K. Chavez, Elvira Reyes, Noemi B. Cabantog, Marifi E. Navarro, Liezl M. Dominado, Arturo O. Morales III, and Rosalina A. Soriano.
They will elect among themselves before taking their oath the constituency of the Executive Board namely the Vice-President and Conference Chairman, Treasurer, Auditor, and PRO.
Good luck and all the best for 2009!

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Workshop photos

Here are some photos from the IL workshop.

Wednesday, September 03, 2008

Infolit Power Workshop

On Sept. 10, the Association will be holding a two-day seminar-workshop on Information Literacy at the Conference Room of the PNU Library.

Details of the activity and resource persons are as follows:

September 10

SESSION # 1 INFORMATION LITERACY ACROSS ALL LIBRARY TYPES with Ms. Brinerdine Alejandrino of the Thomas Jefferson Information Center;

SESSION # 2 INFORMATION LITERACY POWER PACKAGES/PROGRAM FORMULATION (Assessment & Evaluation) with Ms. Perla Garcia, former Board for Librarians Chair &DLSU-Manila Library Director;

September 11

SESSION # 3 INFORMATION LITERACY POWER PACKAGES FOR LIBRARY 1.0 and 2.0 with Ms. Elvira Lapuz of the University of the Philippines-Diliman

SESSION # 4 INFORMATION LITERACY PLAN AND CUSTOMERS’ COMPETENCIES/WORKSHOP with Ms. Elvira Lapuz of the University of the Philippines-Diliman

On site registration is 3,000 Php. PNU alumni gets a 10% discount and students have greatly reduced fees at 1,000 Php.

The program is pretty straightforward and well worth attending.

Thursday, March 06, 2008

PNU LIS Dept. pays tribute to alumni

The PNU-LIS Department paid tribute to its alumni during the Jubilee Celebration of the Department last February 16 at the Edilberto P. Dagot Hall with the theme: The PNU LS Program Through the Years.

Certificates of recognition were given to Elnora Conti, member of the Board for Librarians; PNU LIS faculty members namely Prof. Remedios P. Joven, Prof. Miguel M. Cobaria, Prof. Ruben P. Marasigan, Dr. Maria A. Orendain and Dr. Linda M. Tayona, former LIS Head Prof. Trinidad M. Albarracin; and to PNU Board Topnotchers in the Licensure Examination for Librarians:

Placida Socorro L. Limpin – 9th Placer, 1992
Dr. Bonifacio Ramos – 1st Placer, 2000
Janice R. De Castro – 2nd Placer, 2004
Rachel Lois Danganan Cruz – 9th Placer, 2004
Chona F. San Pedro – 5th Placer, 2007

The board topnotchers are just 6 of the more than 1,402 LS alumni of the Philippine Normal University from 1957 to 2007.

Xavier School’s Zarah Grace C. Gagatiga, one beloved alumni, gave an endearing message and encouraged all to join her see the torch light burning bright as the PNU LIS Department continues to guide aspiring librarians to a promising tomorrow.

“This does not end with hoping and seeing though,” said Gagatiga. As an alumnus, it is her personal responsibility to carry the torch, ablaze and aflame while PNU LISAA as an alumni organization serves as a keeper of the flame.

That, we all have a part to play…
That, we all have a contribution to make…
That, we all need tough love and sacrifice to nurture the torch’s fire…

She challenged everyone to keep the torch’s flame from flickering and keep the torch’s flame alive?

Inspirational messages were also given by Dr. Angelita D. Romero (Vice President for Academics), Dr. Lydia B. Liwanag (CLLL Dean) and Hon. Corazon M. Nera (BFL Chair).
Zarah had some photos of the affair.

Tuesday, February 12, 2008

PNU LIS Dept celebrates Golden Jubilee

This coming Saturday, 16th of February, the Philippine Normal University's Library and Information Science Department will be holding its Golden Jubilee celebration and the Association will be at the heart of it.

The morning program includes a mass, exhibits, a recognition program for outstanding alumni, board topnotcher and special awards for LIS mentors. The Coffee Goddess and SLIA, Zarah Gagatiga will be delivering an inspirational message. A Bingo and raffle will follow in the afternoon.

Congratulations to the faculty and staff of the Department and here's looking forward to more graduates!

Monday, January 07, 2008

Association Holds GA, Induction and Christmas Party

Apologies for the very late posting but better late than never.

Last December 8, the Alumni Association held its 7th General Assembly and Induction ceremonies in the morning and a Christmas party in the afternoon. Inducting the new set of officers was Mrs. Corazon Nera, Chairman of the Board for Librarians.

This year's officers and board of directors are the following:

President: Roderick B. Ramos, Philippine Normal University (PNU)
Vice-President: Jocelyn L. Ladlad, De La Salle University (DLSU)
Secretary: Flordeliza Siochi, National Commission for Culture and the
Arts (NCCA)
Treasurer: Noemi B. Cabantog, St. Paul College (SPC)
P.R.O.: Marifi E. Navarro, Elizabeth Seton School (ESS)
Auditor: Marconi Fermanejo, Cavite State University (CvSU)

Board Members:
Marites K. Chavez, Congressional National High School (CNHS)
Eileen De Chavez-Magadia, De La Salle Lipa (DLL)
Rosalina A. Soriano, General Alvarez School of Arts and Trade (GASAT)
Consuelo J. Estigoy, Eduardo L. Joson Memorial College (ELJMC)
Antonio R. Resurreccion, Xavier School (XS)

Ex-officio: Estela A. Montejo, Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU)

Congratulations to the officers and here's looking forward to a fruitful year ahead!